Off the mat, into the world: yogis at Occupy LA

WITH YOU, I BREATHE: A forty day yoga column

#37: Off the mat, into the world: yogis at Occupy LA

Autumn Rooney who is the co-founder of the Echo Park Time Bank (EPTB) invited me to an Occupy LA event: LA Yoga Leader to Join Occupy LA created by the nonprofit organization Off the Mat, Into the World. Sean Corne started Off the Mat, Into the World, which combines activism and yoga.

Sean Corne is a celebrated yogi who I admire. I’ve listened to her public radio interviews and read her interviews. Mostly, I like what she has to say, I like how her personal experience shaped her perspective on yoga. I’ve linked to her interviews on this blog, actually.

I probably always had an inclination towards activism, justice and service. Then I went UC Santa Cruz for four years. The school shaped my consciousness and I became more liberal and a feminist and started to love writers like Audre Lorde, June Jordan, Bettina Aptheker and Angela Davis.

I learned about the Echo Park Time Bank through a nonprofit for which I was working. I volunteered at the Echo Park Farmer’s Bank and hosted events. I’m not as active member as I’d like to be. Once I’m a certified yoga instructor, I’d like to offer classes to EPTB members. The Time Bank uses time as commerce rather than money and in doing so create a sense of community. I actually went to Occupy LA late one Saturday night with two Time Bank members.

I’m interested in bringing my feminist perspective and sense of service to my yoga practice and yoga teaching. I admire Sean Corne because she has combined yoga and activism. I’m curious about how to do that myself. I suppose that’s part of the reason I’ll be joining others who practice yoga at Occupy LA.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

