he had a job to do, that’s his way of life

WITH YOU, I BREATHE: A forty day yoga column

#34: he had a job to do, that’s his way of life

I was going to write about gratitude but still am thinking about how to write about gratitude, how to come at it, probably from all sides. Maybe I don’t know yet. So I’ll write about something else. About vocare or vocation, or being a vessel. In short: doing what you’re here to do. I hear it in the lyrics of some of my favorite songs.

Cat Power’s Willie:

Willie was shot once in his mind
His cry out saved his own life
The second time was through the heart
The doctors pulled the bullet from inside

He had a job to do, he said
That’s his way of life

Woody Guthrie’s Along in the Sun and the Rain

I’m going to get my job done,
I’m going to get my job done
I’m going to get my job done,
along in the sun and the rain.

I listen to Bill Callahan’s Vessel in Vain

I can’t be held responsible for the things I say
For I am just a vessel in vain
And I can’t be held responsible for the thing I see
For I am just a vessel in vain

As I brainstormed about how to write about gratitude, I read Yogi Bhajan’s “The Art of Appreciation,” which appears to be a speech he gave in 1987. He tells a story to make his point clear. In the story, a character said,  “My job is to prepare your horse and
that’s it. If you are going to ask me for any other job, you are mistaken and I am mistaken. You can either  have me killed, or you can spare my life. But I only know what to do, and I just do what I have to do.”

More and more, I feel confident in what I’m here to do. Not only do I feel more and more confident, I feel it necessary to follow through. I do my best to focus. I think if you know what you want to do, if you have a clear goal in mind, then it becomes easier to follow through.

My friend once told me that her friend said, I like Zoë. She doesn’t seem catty.

My friend replied, Zoë is too self-centered to be catty. She’s just too busy.

That’s one way to look at it. The other way is that I’m focused on a fixed point, so that all the rest falls away. Of course, I get side tracked but less so than once before.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

