Singing

WITH YOU, I BREATHE: A forty day yoga column

#17: Singing

My friend said he wanted to activate the parasympathetic nervous system. He’s currently reading Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers, and he tends to be stressed out a lot. His sleeping and eating patterns vary and he doesn’t much have time (or maybe interest) to go to a yoga class. He also doesn’t have much free time, a lot of it goes to work, but I do know he has a long commute and a car radio and likes music.

I suggested he sing at least a half hour every day. When you’re singing, you’re combining  sound with breath and likely to activate the parasympathetic nervous system. Singing lengthens the exhale, aids digestion, brightens the mood, and builds confidence. If I feel low, anxious, or can’t digest something well, I sing for half hour, and feel better. So there’s my yoga tip: start singing for half hour.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

