The Heart Chakra

WITH YOU, I BREATHE: A forty day yoga column

#9: The Heart Chakra

Chakras are one of those things where I’m fine if people don’t believe they exist or do believe they exist, or don’t have a opinion of them or do. For a long time, I happen to have not believed in them, thinking they were ridiculous, and now I do believe in them and have a pretty good sense about which of my chakras are overactive and underactive.  This has to do with the fact that I practice and study Kundalini Yoga, which is a very energetic practice. For instance, Kundalini yoga often includes meditations, mantras, and mudras.

Mainly chakras help me meditate because I use them as a form of visualization, and visualization can be a powerful tool in meditation. In one sense, when I visualize on a specific chakra, I become more connected to my emotional state or specific body part, creating a kind of mental and emotional state that helps me accept how and what I’m feeling in the present moment.

According to Kundalini yoga, there are eight chakras and the chakras have to do with energy and conciousness. The heart chakra is the fourth chakra and located in the center of the chest. This chakra governs compassion and love, not love in the romantic sense, just love in a kind of brotherly/sisterly way.  The heart chakra is associated with a kind of maternal love because when this chakra is open, the ability to act selflessly is possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s