everyone needs someone to spell out their name

A friend told me she has stage II cancer and she wanted to know if I could recommend her any yoga classes. She’s a beginner, she’d be taking her class during chemotherapy. So I put her in touch with Lauren Maher who teacher yoga to people who have cancer. Lauren is one of teachers who is teaching the yoga training that I’m taking.

Meanwhile my best friend is still in rehab in Minnesota, and I sent him a care package and hope to hear from him soon. It’s part of the Pom Pom series, which if you don’t know about, you can look at recent blog entries. Scout Niblett’s “Pom Poms” inspired the title. My friend once made me a mix CD with that song on it.

In the song, she sings, Does anyone know a cute girl with some pom poms? Because everybody needs someone to spell out their name. Because everyone needs someone to spell out their name, in a little song. So please, please, please just send her along. Please,please, please just send her along. To cheer me on, cheer me up, cheer me on, cheer me up. To cheer me on, cheer me up, cheer me on, cheer me up, in a little song.

Last night I was watching Cowboy Bebop (actually I’ve been watching it all weekend, it’s a marathon up in here), and there was this scene that I wanted to record for him. Watch the scene here. I think we often forget about that kid cheering us on. We can cheer us on, we can cheer each other up, whether we remember or not.

I should be finishing People of Paper and Samuel Johnson is Indignant and The Heart of Yoga, but all I’m interested in reading is Lone Wolf and Cub. Basically I’m watching a lot of anime and reading manga because I like the aesthetic style, I like the way the pictures look, but I also love stories where the main character is mysterious and determined, and lives a life filled with adventure. That’s why I love Kill Bill and Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to everyone needs someone to spell out their name

  1. Pingback: On turning 27… |

Leave a Reply

